sweet potato

23 Jul

One of my roommates and his girlfriend purchased some sweet potatoes about a month and a half ago with intentions of cooking them and making a glorious sweet potato feast. Well, I guess as big of a feast that you can have with 2 sp’s. (I’ll be calling sweet potatoes “sp’s” from now on because I think it will be too time consuming to type “sweet potatoes” tons of times. Almost as time consuming as typing this explanation as to why I won’t be typing out the whole two words each time).

So these two sp’s are put below my shelf in the cabinet. This shelf is really just the floor of the cabinet, and it is full of wal-mart grocery bags. The sp’s are lost and forgotten in the grocery bags for a long time and I start realizing it smells faintly of fish, or possibly some other dead animal. However, I do not investigate because I am lazy. More time passes and I go to eat a piece of bread and it actually tastes like the smell.

At this point, I decide to find out what it is. I push away a single wal-mart bag, and there they are…in all their smelly horror. The juices the rotting sp’s produced actually ate through the bag they were in and were covering the floor of the cabinet. I picked up a corner of the bag and rushed it to the trash. However, in doing this the smell was amplified. By a lot. The whole apartment started smelling, so Justin and I had to leave. (I forgot to mention Justin witnessed all this. Sorry you had to smell that, Justin.)

Later, I came back prepared with various cleaners and air fresheners. It was a long, juicy, terrible-smelling battle. There were two wash cloth casualties by the end of the fight, and a garbage bag full of tainted wal-mart bags.

The smell is gone from the apartment now. The cabinet floor is sanitized. Order is restored.

The moral of the story: Don’t ever lose your sp’s.

4 Responses to “sweet potato”

  1. Justin LeBlanc July 23, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    Yeah, don’t ever lose your sweet potatoes. Well, unless you have friends or house mates that will clean it up for you.

  2. Manessah August 16, 2008 at 9:17 pm #

    i feel like such a jerk. maybe i can cook some sweet potatoz to make up for it. and i’ll do it in a timely manner this time… what do you think?

  3. Colin August 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm #

    I think that sounds like a fantastic idea.

  4. Manessah October 3, 2008 at 7:09 pm #

    I just read your response…like 2 months late…ummmm if you move here ill make you sweet potatoz every week. And you will probably live here before i read your response.

Leave a Reply

