peek-a-boo

6 Nov

Something interesting happened to me at work yesterday. And by “interesting” I mean “disturbing”.

I’ve had some strange encounters in the restroom at work, but yesterday’s was the weirdest by far. I went to the bathroom to do my business, and a 40-45 ish year old man came in about a minute later. I assumed he was in there to pee, since he didn’t go in the other opened stall next to me. So I was sitting there for a good while (I’d say about 5-8 minutes) doing the deed and playing sudoku on my phone to pass the time, and I noticed I didn’t hear the guy leave. I got kind of a weird feeling and looked up to see that he was staring at me through the crack in the stall door. We made eye contact and the guy didn’t even flinch…he just kept staring at me. No shame whatsoever.

what. the. f##k.

A lot of questions were going through my mind at that point.
How long has he been doing this? Should I say something? Should I like…call for help?

He kept staring at me, and I was getting kind of concerned. This went on for like, a minute or so.

Then, someone else walked in the restroom, and finally the guy stopped peeking through the door and he went into the stall right next to me. I could hear him mumbling something. I was like “Ok, time to leave as quickly as possible.” I finished up, and exited the stall. I decided that I should still wash my hands since the third person was also in there, and for some reason that made the other guy scared enough to stay in the stall. I’m washing my hands and look in the mirror, which is directly in front of the stalls, and I could see the guy still staring at me through the crack in his stall door.

I go to the first person I can find, which happens to be Ryan Frieze. I said, “Dude, this old guy just watched me take a dump.” He said, “You should’ve said “BOO.”

I went back to my department to find that the guy was there looking at socks. I took a really, really bad cell phone picture of him from pretty far away. He turned and faced me, so I had to escape to our seasonal aisle. I didn’t see him again after that.

Later, a kid asked me if we carried ostrich skin boots.

weird day.

11 Responses to “peek-a-boo”

  1. mmmanessah November 6, 2008 at 8:13 pm #

    WHAT THE? i dont even know what to say about that. but it makes an awesome post, so i guess it was worth it.

  2. SSG November 6, 2008 at 9:32 pm #

    That is totally mental. I think I would have shat myself, if I wasn’t already, so to speak. I might have yelled at him, pissed in his eye, or chased him round the store later with a broom, running in a strange side-to-side motion and releasing a strange gurgling sound from my lungs. Or maybe i would have just said “FREAK!” really loudly and told the other person in the washroom. Mental. LOL that you took a photo though. Hope you don’t have nightmares tonight, remember to check under your bed and in the wardrobe!

  3. Marianna November 7, 2008 at 7:52 am #

    THAT IS THE WEIRDEST THING EVAR!

    …it creeped me out just to read that.

  4. SSG November 7, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    oh and I laughed out loud when i read the intro…

  5. Colin November 7, 2008 at 4:42 pm #

    Yeah, it was kind of scary when it was happening. Now I think it’s kind of funny and weird. But mostly weird.

    And SSG, I think I’ll take your advice with the broom next time someone tries to watch me poop. This first time I was too shocked to do anything..haha

  6. lacyevans November 7, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    Creepsterrrr! I can’t believe you continued sitting there after you realized he was looking at you. lsdjflsdkjfl; it gives me the heebs just thinking about it.

  7. Christopher November 7, 2008 at 5:35 pm #

    Shoulda asked him to join you?

  8. Colin November 8, 2008 at 5:35 am #

    SSG: I forgot to tell you how funny the gurgling sound from you lungs was. Or at least I imagined it to be..
    haha

    Next time I think I’ll charge money though. I’m kind of broke.

  9. annonymous December 1, 2008 at 11:21 pm #

    i just loled so hardcore in the library while people are trying to study.

  10. Colin December 2, 2008 at 4:59 am #

    Glad to entertain you annonymous

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. justin leblanc - November 8, 2008

    […] great scary […]

Leave a Reply

