Austin visit

18 Nov

I went to Austin to visit Eric, Jason, and Manessah this weekend with Korey. I must say, it was pretty fun and eventful.

First, we went on a sweet walking trail and found a hobo camp site in the woods. I forgot my camera, so I wasn’t able to immortalize it on this blog unfortunately. Let me tell you a little about it though. There was a racquet ball and a sign that asked for change. And a broken dresser. That was pretty much it actually.

Eric, Korey, and I went walking around Guatalupe while Jason and Manessah were at work. It was a pretty cool area. Eric and I went into Urban Outfitters and Korey got to watch a bum fight outside while he was eating a sandwich. I missed it, dammit. I needed a pair of pants and found a pair that fit well for $55. I was thinking “Please don’t spend $55 dollars on pants Colin. You need to eat, don’t you remember?” So I went to go buy them anyway, and they rung up for $21.64. I was like…F**k yes. Then we went walking around some more and we passed a Church of Scientology. I picked up a pamphlet. What does it look like, you ask?

Here is my favorite picture in the whole booklet. If I were a scientologist, here is how I’d want to look:

We went in a starbucks and I counted 9 macs. I’m about to give a persuasive speech on why PC’s are a better purchase than macs. I should have practiced on them.

So then later that night we walked around 6th street and went to a few bars. I got into a very dancy mood and kept singing “Apple bottom jeans and boots with the furrrrr. The whole clubs lookin’ at herrrrrr..” and so on. After the bars we went walking to the car and got a little lost. I kept thinking I was in Houston the whole time for some reason. Also, I accidentally pushed Eric down some stairs and I peed on a building in public.

The next morning I was kind of nauseous and my calves really hurt from dancing a lot. I felt better once I ate a little. I can’t remember what the place was called that we ate at, but it had pumpkin pancakes. That kind of sucks actually, because now all other pancakes I eat are going to taste like total crap in comparison. Then we went and saw Repo: The Genetic Opera in an Alamo theater. The movie is only playing in 8 theaters in America, so I thought it’d be pretty cool to check out. When it ended, Jason said “That was the worst movie of my life,” and Eric said “That movie is playing at 8 theaters too many.” I couldn’t possibly agree more. The theater was really cool though. It was my first time to ever go to one.

On the way home Korey and I stopped at a BBQ place and they gave us an insane amount of food for 10 bones. I missed a meeting at work because we didn’t leave in time so now I’m getting written up.

totally worth it.
love,
colin

19 Responses to “Austin visit”

  1. mmmanessah November 18, 2008 at 8:12 am #

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. lacyevans November 18, 2008 at 8:15 am #

    “Apple bottom jeans and boots with the furrrrr. The whole clubs lookin’ at herrrrrr..””

    I remember when that used to my be MY song. Anyway, glad you guys had fun in Austin. Korey looks mighty well dressed the part.

    Ps. I think Eden misses you. She told me that, then she gave me a coat of her fur to wear on my pants.

    Her fur + my corduroy pants = looks great together.

  3. tylergorrell November 18, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    we shall get low, low, low this saturday my friend, 80’s party! I hope I can go on the next Austin trip, seems like it was a lot of fun.

  4. SSG November 18, 2008 at 10:27 am #

    hahhaha I want to look like that man too in another life. He’s like a viking singing opera songs. And who is the guy freaking out in the kitchen. i think you better watch him. He looks like he’s had one too many nachos. And pumpkin pancakes… never had them. I eat scotch pancakes or crepes, but American pancakes rock, with syrup. We cant get them overhere. I wish we had diners. Damnit! Well done on your “pants”. Here pants are what you guys call underpants. We call pants trousers. Imagine spending $55 on underpants, hahahhahahahah! that is just how my brain (doesn’t) work. But trousers for $21 that’s bingo. Aint that like 50p?

  5. Christopher November 18, 2008 at 9:24 pm #

    So I guess you are a gay Austinite Scientologist now…

  6. mmmanessah November 18, 2008 at 10:37 pm #

    the knights name is gregory jameling shobermyer. i glad he made it to the post. i can’t believe ya’ll were brave enough to go to the hobo camp, and i can’t believe i had to miss it.

    next time i’m making cornbread. and cake. kerbey lane is good, but i don’t think they can make cake as good as mine.

    anytime that i’m feeling really bad i just replay the image of eric falling in the street and i bust out laughing. like, out loud, uncontrollable laughing.

  7. Christopher November 19, 2008 at 12:50 am #

    “anytime that i’m feeling really bad i just replay the image of eric falling in the street and i bust out laughing. like, out loud, uncontrollable laughing.”

    Pics or it didn’t happen…

  8. Colin November 19, 2008 at 2:41 am #

    Lacy: It’s getting kind of cold, so it’s very thoughtful of Eden to give you a coating of fur. She always was a good dog, I remember.

    Tyler: Can’t wait, brosef.

    SSG: I think I might go spend $55 on underpants just to see what $55 underpants feel like. I’ll let you know how that goes. And you’re really missing out on pumpkin pancakes. I think everyone should try them at least once in their lifetime.

    Christopher: the homosexual thetans are flowing through my hipster body

    mmmanessah: I’m really looking forward to next time. I mean, if it’s like this last time PLUS cornbread and cake? That’ll be the craziest awesome trip ever. And I’m glad I could make you not feel bad by pushing eric down the steps. And I’m glad he’s a good sport about it..haha.

  9. lacyevans November 20, 2008 at 3:39 am #

    http://www.amazon.com/Ender-Exile-Orson-Scott-Card/dp/0765304961

    Brand new addition to the Ender series.

    I was confused too . . . but now I’m just REALLY stoked. I’m finally finishing up Ender’s Shadow and it’s AMAZING, if you haven’t read it already.

  10. Colin November 20, 2008 at 5:44 am #

    I haven’t yet, but I knew there was a new book coming out. Only because Adam works at Barnes and Nobel..or maybe Books-a-million. I can’t remember. Anyway, he got it like, a week before it came out. I do really need to start reading the ender’s shadow series though. I just have a little of Extremely Loud.. left.

  11. tylergorrell November 20, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    scientology is so hip right now…

  12. Christopher November 20, 2008 at 9:21 am #

    You Obama lovin’ scientologist son of a…

  13. Colin November 20, 2008 at 5:23 pm #

    hahahahaa

  14. xlaurashleyx November 20, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    Did i let YOU borrow Xenocide a very, VERY long time ago…like that time i still lived in Texas about a bajillion years ago? Just wondering…i haven’t seen that book in a while…

  15. Colin November 20, 2008 at 5:49 pm #

    Nah, I actually bought that one…

    but you did let me borrow Speaker for the Dead. I need to get that back to you 🙂

  16. xlaurashleyx November 20, 2008 at 10:33 pm #

    Haha THAT’S what it was! HAha…it’s okay. Just bring it when you come to chicago…soon? hopefully?? maybe, probably, i wish you would??

  17. SSG November 21, 2008 at 11:33 am #

    hhaha Christopher

    never heard of this orson scott card guy. Is that a real name? Awseome is a better name than orson. Just sayin.

  18. Colin November 21, 2008 at 6:00 pm #

    hahah, yeah.. Awesome Scott Card would be a better name.

    But, if you feel like reading some interesting science fiction novels, read his Ender Series. They’re pretty good

  19. Justin LeBlanc November 21, 2008 at 10:07 pm #

    A new Ender book? Oh yeah. I am excited. I like to see posts about Austin ruling. I think I will have to move there because of this. They have public transportation and that is what I need. I really enjoy reading super long posts and then reading an equal amount of comments, especially when I find out about another book in the Ender series.

Leave a Reply

