I’m not a multi-tasker, apparently

12 Jan

In anticipation of a fun-filled action packed day of business calculus, finance, and work tomorrow, I went to bed at 12 o’clock planning to get a good 8 hours of sleep. It is now 2:30am. This is because right when I get on the brink of sleep, I stop breathing and I wake up gasping for air. It’s a really strange feeling…it’s like I can’t breath without consciously thinking about doing it. Once I start dozing off, it’s like my mind can’t remember to breathe and sleep at the same time. Stupid idiot mind.

After doing some research, I’ve found that my inability to breathe while sleeping can be caused by two things: asthma or sleep apnea. I’m pretty sure it’s asthma because I had that until I was like, 14 or so. But it’s weird how this randomly happens to me from time to time. This is the first time it’s happened in almost a year, and I wish I knew what caused it so I could avoid doing whatever that is for all time. Also I wish it wasn’t happening the night before my first day of class.

Before my first day of class last semester, my friends and I had a water drinking game. I drank so much water that I think I almost died. I probably went to the bathroom 13 times that night alone. Plus I was sweating profusely and felt really nauseous. I think that was worse than this. But anyway, maybe that’s what is causing this. Maybe I’m doomed to have a bad first day of class due to lack of sleep for the rest of my school career.

I’m going to go give sleeping while breathing another shot. I guess it just takes practice.

wish me luck,
colin

11 Responses to “I’m not a multi-tasker, apparently”

  1. SSG January 12, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    do you sleep on your back/ front? make any difference if you sleep on your side?
    If it was apnea you might get to wear one of those darth-vader-type breathing machines while you sleep. one way to seduce the ladies…

  2. lacyevans January 12, 2009 at 5:59 pm #

    Remember when you had all that asthma crap a while back? I’m just sayin, cause I think I heard that asthma never really goes away, but the bad symptoms of it can.

    That sucks, don’t die, k?

  3. Colin January 13, 2009 at 8:13 am #

    SSG: I mostly sleep on my side in the fetal position, so I tried sprawling out on my back and stomach instead, but I wasn’t really having any luck. I don’t really remember falling asleep that night..I wish I knew how it happened so I can do it again tonight..haha. If it turns out I don’t have sleep apnea, I’ll probably wear one of those masks anyway ’cause of how hot ladies think they are.

    Lacy: Yeah, I agree. I’m pretty sure it has to do with my asthma. My airways get really constricted and I have to force myself to breathe. It really sucks. And I’ll try to keep up the good fight and not die..haha

  4. Marianna January 13, 2009 at 7:41 pm #

    I totally used to have that exact same problem, when I was like 11, and I’ve practically been Ms. Asthmatic USA all my life…
    So yeah…
    It is the suck.

    I think my asthma has been acting up lately too…maybe its something in the air..

  5. Colin January 14, 2009 at 12:29 am #

    I think it’s the area mostly…like the humidity and junk. It might also be due to some mustiness in my apartment. It feels kind of weird in here sometimes and it makes my allergies flare up sometimes, and it might be doing the same with my asthma. I’m such a fragile little lad.

  6. lacyevans January 14, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    Hey so . . . what’s up with Justin being on a boat?

    • Colin January 15, 2009 at 7:52 am #

      He just decided that he wanted to work on a boat, so he went and did it apparently. I think he’ll be on it for close to a year or something..

  7. lacyevans January 15, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    That kid . . .

  8. lacyevans January 18, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    I demand a new post from you. 😦

  9. SSG January 22, 2009 at 1:48 pm #

    Ok, so I think I have X-box live. err, how does it work? Do I have to have the same games as you? I only have a few games at present so I’ll list them here:
    Lego Indiana Jones, KungFuPanda (came free with it, Don’t blame me!), Gears of War2, Sonic Unleashed, Scene it. And we’re getting Call of Duty and the megadrive megamix when it is released…
    I tried to put my email in it last night but it kept coming up with an error… but have another account signed in.

  10. Colin January 24, 2009 at 7:08 am #

    Do you have a gamertag yet?

    I’m planning on getting GoW2, so we could play that if you figure out your xbox live stuff. I’m not sure about kung fu panda though..haha

Leave a Reply

