the internet is serious business.

16 Mar

I’m continually learning new things on guitar recently. I’m trying very hard not to suck anymore.. If you see me within the next few days with a guitar in my hands and you say “Hey Colin, play a descending G Minor scale,” I will be able to do so. I can also play some arpeggios, but I’m not very good at those yet. I think I have a few potential buyers for my firebird and I think I’m gonna get a Gretsch electromatic instead. They’re kind of big in person, but I think I’d get used to it. Here’s a picture of one..

I went to the beach with Morgan, Jeffrey, Josh, and Justin last Tuesday even though I felt like I could barf hundreds of times. I was a bit sick from Monday night. I had a few drinks and tried to fit in a drier and spilled stuff all over my tv and hit my head on some stuff etc etc. Anyway, like I said, I was feeling pretty bad the next morning but Justin was able to talk me into going, which was awesome because I ended up having a great time. When we got there we found a dead boar on the beach. Then we went back to the cabin and a few of the guys started pulling out Rock Band, so Justin and I went and hung out at the beach and climbed a tree and stuff.

I’ve been kind of wanting to ride my bike more recently, but the entire end of this spring break has been really rainy and gross. Bummer. I think I might try to go this upcoming Tuesday or something. I bought a tennis racket and a football so I can talk myself into going outside a lot more. Once I played tennis for around 5-10 minutes and my elbow got all swollen and I couldn’t really bend it for like a week. Luckily, Chae knows what he’s doing and has taught me proper technique so I don’t look and feel like an idiot as much.

Eric is in New York right now. I wanted to go with him pretty bad, but of course school got in the way. Plus it seemed like he kind of wanted to go by himself. Ah well. Maybe I’ll become a world traveler some other time, like after school is over or something.

I got some glasses recently. I can now see unbelievably well when I’m driving at night. For the past year or so it’s been really dangerous for me and everyone around me when I drive at night. Also, I can see the board really well at school now. And I went and saw a movie for the first time with glasses it it was crazy awesome. It’s weird how much of a difference they make. And I think I’m kind of getting used to the way they look on me now. I’m so excited about them that my sentences have become really short and stupid sounding.

I think that’s all for now. As promised, here’s this post’s .gif

-Colin

10 Responses to “the internet is serious business.”

  1. tylergorrell March 16, 2009 at 7:31 am #

    ok, haha I’m gonna start with the gif image. It made me laugh pretty hard, good pick sir. See what you’ve been missing out on the glasses ehh??? Making fun of me all those months for having them saying Casey made me wear them:) That boar looks reallllly dead and frankly pretty gross. Nice lookin’ guitar by the way, that’d be pretty sweet if you got that.

  2. SSG March 16, 2009 at 11:29 am #

    lovin the dancing… weasel? stoat? what animal is that? Maybe it’s really obvious if you’re from North America and I will look like a stupid European. Anyways, the dead boar, that is kinda random. Like something that would happen in a Murakami novel. Are there normally boars in your area. And getting glasses to see is totally cool. And then you try contact lenses and you realise what other people see like. And then, like my friend, you get laser eye surgery and go on about how great it is. Dammit, it’s only Monday and I’m already fed up of this week. Nice to read a story from Colin though 😉

  3. Colin March 16, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    tyler: Sorry I made fun of you. I didn’t know what I was missing out on..haha. Yeah, the boar was extremely gross, but only if you stood downwind of it. We chucked a couple rocks at it too, which was kind of fun.

    SSG: I think it’s an otter, but I’m not sure. It kind of looks like it’s in the snow which would make it not an otter. I just don’t know..haha. I just kind of found it randomly. Boars at the beach are pretty rare as far as I know, which is why it was kind of weird to find a dead one there. I think I’ll stick with the glasses for a while. I’ve tried contacts before and they just didn’t work out. And I don’t see myself letting anyone shoot my eyeballs with lasers anytime soon..haha

  4. Justin LeBlanc March 17, 2009 at 4:09 am #

    The quality of your phone pictures are good. I see that you incorporated a couple of things you learned recently into your post like the title, and “chucked” which you definitely didn’t just learn, but re-heard it. Nice post.

  5. Colin March 17, 2009 at 4:14 am #

    Yeah, thanks for the title Justin.

  6. mmmanessah April 8, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    ok i was feeling kinda suicidal and then i saw that dancing critter and realized theres so much to live for.

  7. SSG April 9, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    colin colin colin, when are you going to type a post and make me laugh, huh?

  8. Colin April 9, 2009 at 3:28 pm #

    hahaha, I’ll give it a shot on my next one. I think I have a couple funny things to talk about

  9. Lacy. April 15, 2009 at 5:24 am #

    I was talking to my friend Drew and he said that when you did that speech on Ender’s Game you convinced him to read them..

    Just thought I’d let you know.

  10. Colin April 16, 2009 at 6:11 pm #

    Good to know that one of my crappy speeches influenced someone..haha

Leave a Reply

