He maybe did

16 Apr

Well, I have some good news and bad news.

The bad news is that I interviewed for a marketing job and found out recently that I didn’t get it. The good news is now I can talk about the interview without fearing they will type my name in google and find this journal.

First of all let me say that I haven’t been in an interview in like 3 and a half years, so I’m a little rusty.

I show up feeling a bit nervous, which I think is natural. After waiting in the lobby for a while I get called into a room where there are 4 ladies ready to interview me. At the same time. My initial reaction was to say “OH SHIIIIII…” while running out of the room and flinging papers out of my hands. I stayed though. I think it went fairly ok, considering I’m not very good at bragging on myself and that’s what interviews are all about. They’d ask things like “What makes you a better candidate for this job than anyone else we’ve interviewed so far?”…and I’d be thinking “um…probably nothing.” They also asked “What’s you’re most comfortable situation dealing with communication and what’s your least?” I said “Most comfortable would be a one on one situation. Least comfortable would be the situation I’m in right now.” It made them laugh, but they were probably thinking “lol, I wonder if he actually thinks he might get this job.” Which I did. Oh well, if nothing else I got some experience being interviewed, which I found out I desperately need.

I haven’t been sick in a while so I guess it’s my turn now. I have had some kind of throat problem the past couple days, but I’m not sure what it is specifically. It’s the one that feels like someone has shoved a knife down your throat and twisted it around a little bit. Yesterday it was feeling pretty bad, so I decided it would be a good idea to go for a run during the hottest part of the day. It turns out that idea wasn’t so good after all.

I found a fun game on a forum recently. You take a movie, song, show, or book, and describe what it would be like if it were done backwards.

here are some examples:

If you watch Rambo backwards, Sylvester Stallone is healing people with his magical bullet vacuum.

If you watch the Star Wars Trilogy backwards, it’s about a successful jedi knight who decides to become a poor farmer with his aunt and uncle who have recently come back from the dead.

If you watch Benjamin Button backwards, some kid grows old and dies.

If you watch Donnie Darko backwards, it still makes no sense.

If you watch Neverending Story backwards it’s still only an hour and a half long

wanna play?

love,
colin

5 Responses to “He maybe did”

  1. tylergorrell April 16, 2009 at 5:48 am #

    the gif’s keep getting better and better, that one rulez! Sucks about the job and being sick. Hopefully a job will come along before october if you know what I mean.

    If you watch clerks backwards, its still in black and white and they are still standing at the counter.

  2. tylergorrell April 16, 2009 at 6:06 am #

    if you watch dumb and dumber backyards, you learn that two guys steal a lot of money, drive across the country to become a dog groomer and a limo driver.

  3. SSG April 16, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    lol, actually donny darko may make more sense if I watch it backwards. Shame about the interview but your review of it did make me laugh at work, which is always a good thing for me, but maybe not so good for you. “What makes you a better candidate for this job than anyone else we’ve interviewed so far?”…and I’d be thinking “um…probably nothing.””. This sounds like me. A lot. Your sore throat with the knife twisted a bit reminds me of Bob fossil from The Mighty Boosh: “Do you know what I like to do when im down in the dumps? I like to jump over the neighbours fence, take his cat and twist its neck then just twist it a little bit then twist it some more and then kick him then throw him down and twist his neck some more”… OK maybe it sounds strange outta context but is very funny in situ. Promise.

  4. SSG April 16, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    Grease backwards: some kids party and look hot and then get dressed in crap clothes and go back to school, as well as taking a car apart.

  5. Colin April 18, 2009 at 4:15 am #

    If you watch Fievel Goes West backwards, Fievel goes east.

Leave a Reply

