pulling teeth

11 Sep

I had my wisdom teeth pulled yesterday. It was pretty nuts, because I was informed in my checkup that I would be put to sleep during the procedure because the bottom two teeth that hadn’t crowned would have to be surgically removed. When I got to the office, I found that the surgeon that was going to operate on me was out of the country and I’d be having a stand in. I was told this by a woman that would be assisting in my surgery. This woman was arguing pretty hard with another lady that worked there, so when she was bringing me to the operating room she was all pissed off. I just kept trying to make jokes with her to lighten the mood, but she wasn’t having it.

So I’m sitting in the chair, nervous as crap, and the surgeon comes in. He gives me some pain killer and starts explaining stuff to me, although at that point I couldn’t really talk or understand what was going on. I was conscious though. They started removing them and I kept looking around at them as if to say “HOLY CRAP I’M STILL AWAKE” (since I couldn’t talk). I remember flinching in pain, making weird noises, swallowing blood, and hearing my teeth cracking. It all seems like a bad dream now though..I don’t really remember the feeling of pain, just flinching because of it, if that makes any sense.

A really unfortunate (and I guess rare since they didn’t mention it; I had to look it up) after effect of getting your wisdom teeth removed is chronic hiccups. I am extremely tired because I’m on some hardcore pain medications, but I can’t go to sleep because the hiccups won’t let me. I’m pretty sure this is one of the annoying experiences I’ve ever had in my life.

I’m really really looking forward to full recovery

-colin

One Response to “pulling teeth”

  1. Cody Mays October 29, 2009 at 5:29 pm #

    Oh no! I’m getting my wisdom teeth pulled this summer :O yikes. Not looking forward to swallowing blood… but I guess you gotta do what you gotta do :/

Leave a Reply

