Now what?

14 May

Well, I finally did it. After about 5 years of attending college, I am graduating with a bachelor’s degree in communication. I barely scraped by in my 6 classes this semester too. Nah, just kidding. I got 5 A’s and a B. I also just turned 24 about a week ago. So now I have a dilemma, I am a 24 year old with a college degree that works at a retail store at the lowest possible level you can be. I’m not sure of what I want to do now. I pretty much have two options: I can continue my education and get a master’s degree in graphic design, or I can move to another city and attempt to get a job and start enjoying my life a little more. Or I can continue working where I work now forever and hate myself until I die. So really I have three options. I am kind of leaning towards continuing education because I really think I would enjoy the classes and it would rule to have a master’s degree. We’ll see though.

I have been trying to put together a good looking resume for the past few days to aid in my new job search. I’ve also started trying to come up with some ideas for some portfolio work I could do in case I need to apply for a design job or an advertising agency or something. I just got some design programs on my new computer so I’ve been messing around with them a bit. Here’s a building in Beaumont from a few posts ago that I illustrated in one of the said programs.

salutations,
Colin

4 Responses to “Now what?”

  1. Tyler May 14, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    You should move to Austin so we can hang out, haha. Like the picture by the way.

    • Colin May 24, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      Thanks ty. Someday I’ll move to Austin or a surrounding area maybe, but that day doesn’t lie within the next couple years or so.

      Good luck with the apartment hunting this upcoming weekend

  2. SSG May 19, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    Congratulations on the BA. And the picture is awesome. I feel a bit similar to you, but I’ve just finished a masters, and now I don’t know what the fuck to do with my life… get a job to pay the bills, go traveling, or try to work out what I’d like to do with my life. I think what I’d really like to do is sell all my possessions and live as a nomad, or maybe get a cool job and do lots of volunteering and help people and do crafty things. Or live near the sea and mountains and do lots of things outdoors. I have no idea, but there must be more than 9-5, 9-5, oh wait, where;s the time gone, I’m 40 now. hmmmm

    • Colin May 24, 2010 at 12:17 pm #

      Thanks so much!

      I’ve decided to put off selling all my possessions and living in the woods to get my master’s degree while I’m still in my 20’s. It’s really hard getting a job around here right now partly because of the U.S. economic crisis, and partly because I’m not trying at all. I might as well continue my education while I’m not doing anything terribly important I guess.

      It would be awesome to live near mountains. Where I live is the complete opposite of mountains, so a drastic change in scenery like that would be pretty cool I bet.

Leave a Reply

