new frontiers

24 Jan

I’ve been making some big changes in the past few months.

1. I quit work at Academy after over 5 years. I had planned on quitting within the first few weeks of being hired. Better late than never, as they say.

2. I got two new jobs; one at the Art Museum (as stated in previous posts), and one at Games People Play. I am a graphic designer for both of them. This means I wake up at 7, go to my first job and sit at a computer, go to school and sit at a computer, go to my next job and sit at a computer, go home at 9 and sit at a computer, then go to sleep. Both of the jobs are turning out to be pretty cool though, so I’m pretty excited.

3. I’m moving in March. I’m glad to have a change of pace in my living situation, although living with Jarrod and Eric has been really good.

4. I sanded the frames of my glasses so they won’t be so glossy anymore. I accidentally sanded the actual lens on a small section, so sometimes I see the scratch and think something blurry is really close to me.

School has been going well so far. However, I somehow ended up in an advanced photography class even though I’ve never taken a photo class before, and I have no experience taking pictures on even a novice level, much less an advanced one. So instead of using film, my professor is having me take digital pictures. I therefore had to buy a digital camera, and ended up going with one out of my price range, of course.

beaumont

5 Responses to “new frontiers”

  1. Tyler January 24, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    where are you going to be moving?

    • jared January 26, 2011 at 5:48 am #

      none of your bee’s wax tyler

      • Colin January 28, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

        Don’t worry, Tyler. You’re welcome to share a little of my bee’s wax. I’m going to be moving in with Josh and Justin into a little miniature room.

  2. SSG January 28, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    love the illustration of Blankenship! New jobs sound cool too, though hope you spend time away from the computer sometimes!

    • Colin January 28, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

      Thanks!

      And although it is a lot of time spent at computers, I really do like it and I’m glad I’m getting the experience. Since I get most weekends off, I usually make it a point to go outside and do active things as much as possible.

      I need to figure out a way to avoid carpal tunnel syndrom in my right index finger though, haha. It does a lot of mouse scrolling.

Leave a Reply

